Boston: It’s time

by Clay Shaw
Photography by Clay Shaw and Karen Mitchell

The world’s most historic marathon will have the world’s fastest marathoner in a stellar pro field. Monday’s Boston Marathon, the 127th running, will feature 2:01:09 world record holder Eliud Kipchoge. Kipchoge has been quoted as saying, “Boston has been in front of my mind for all of my career.”

For Kipchoge to win, he will need to beat the past two champions: Evans Chebet, the 2022 champ, and Benson Kipruto, the 2021 champion. Shura Kitata of Ethiopia, the 2020 London champ, and Albert Korir of Kenya, the 2021 NYC Marathon champ, are also in deep men’s field. Gabriel Geay of Tanzania, who was fourth in Boston 2022 recently ran a PB of 2:03:00 in Valencia, Spain. Conner Mantz of Utah who ran 2:08:16 in his marathon debut in the 2022 Chicago Marathon is in the mix with fellow Americans Scott Fauble of Arizona, who was seventh in Boston 2022 and top USA, and CJ Albertson of California.

The women’s field is loaded, too, with two-time Boston Champ (2017 and 2021) Edna Kiplagat, 2018 champion Des Linden of Michigan, 2022 Boston podium placers Ababel Yeshaneh of Ethiopia and Mary Ngugi of Kenya, who were second and third.

Seven sub-2:20 women are entered: Amane Beriso of Ethiopia who has a 2:14:58 PB; Joyciline Jepkosgei and Angela Tanui of Kenya; 2022 Oregon World Champs winner Gotytom Gebreslase of Ethiopia, Hiwot Gebremaryam also of Ethiopia, and Lonah Salpeter of Israel make up the sub 2:20 runners along with Edna Kiplagat.

Nell Rojas of Colorado has been top USA runner in the past two Boston Marathons. Sara Hall of Flagstaff, AZ who is now a master, 2020 US Olympic Trials winner Aliphine Tuliamuk, also of Flagstaff, AZ, and Emma Bates of Colorado who said her training has been going very well, “I’m above and beyond what I’ve done in the past.”

Manuel Schar of Switzerland and Daniel Romanchuk of Mt. Airy, Maryland are back to defend their 2022 wheelchair division titles. It won’t be easy, as Marcel Hug of Switzerland, the “Silver Bullet,” won five previous Boston Marathons. 10-time champ Ernst Van Dyk of South Africa is 50 now and doing his last Boston Marathon. Susannah Scaroni of Illinois is in the mix along with Madison De Rozario of Australia.

Eliud Kipchoge of Kenya ran an all-time world best of 2:01:09. Eliud has won 12 of his 14 marathons including London, Berlin, Tokyo, Chicago, and the past two Olympic Marathons.
Des Linden of Charlevoix, Michigan won the 2018 Boston Marathon.
Benson Kipruto of Kenya won the 2022 Boston Marathon. Benson’s PB is 2:04:24 set in the 2022 Chicago Marathon.
Mary Ngugi of Kenya was third in the 2022 Boston Marathon and second in the 2021 Boston Marathon.
Amane Beriso of Ethiopia has the fastest PB in the women’s elite field, having won the 2022 Valencia Marathon with a PB of 2:14:58.
Nell Rojas of Boulder, CO was top American at the Boston Marathon in both 2021 and 2022.
John Korir of Kenya won the 2021 and 2022 Los Angeles Marathons. He set a 2:05:01 PB in the 2022 Chicago Marathon.
Shura Kitata of Ethiopia was the 2020 London Marathon champion. His best is 2:04:49 set in the 2018 London Marathon.
CJ Albertson of Fresno, CA ran a PB of 2:10:23 in the 2022 Boston Marathon.
Gabriel Geay of Tanzania was fourth in the 2022 Boston Marathon. Geay set a PB of 2:03:00 at the 2022 Valencia Marathon.
Albert Korir of Kenya was the 2021 New York City Marathon champion.
Susannah Scaroni of Urbana, IL had a great 2022 fall season with wins in Chicago and New York City Marathons.
Atsede Baysa of Ethiopia won the 2016 Boston Marathon.
Edna Kiplagat of Kenya is the 2017 and 2021 Boston Marathon champion.
Emma Bates of Boulder, CO set a PB in the 2022 Oregon World Championships Marathon in Eugene.
Press Conference featured women were Amane Beriso ETH, Gotytom Gebreslase ETH, Des Linden USA, Edna Kiplagat KEN, and Manuela Schar SUI.
Press conference featured men were Scott Fauble USA, Benson Kipruto KEN, Eliud Kipchoge KEN, Evans Chebet KEN and Daniel Romanchuk USA.
Cuteness! Aliphine and Zoe
Champions photo with Aliphine Tuliamuk and Meb Kelflezghi
Daniel Romanchuk of Mt. Airy, MD was 2019 and 2022 wheelchair division champion.
Conner Mantz of Provo, Utah ran 2:08:16 in his marathon debut in Chicago 2022.
RG’s Clay Shaw with 2020 Atlanta USA Olympic Trials Champion Aliphine Tuliamuk of Flagstaff, AZ

Categories: Race Coverage

Tags: , ,

2 replies

  1. Karen & Clay, Great job as always!!! Love the photographs of the elite stars!!!!


    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: