Netherlands Women Win Team Title in Senior Euro XC Champs Race

By Clay Shaw

THE NETHERLANDS, December 9, 2018—It was only fitting that the host nation would take home Gold in one of the events, after a typical December rainy week with lots of mud.  The Dutch women were a happy group, just edging Great Britain 20 points to 24.  Germany took third.   Yasemin Can of Turkey repeated as the individual champ of the 8300 meter race.  Fabienne Schlumpf of Switzerland won the silver, and Karoline Groval of Norway earning the bronze.  Susan Krumins, and Jip Vastenburg took the next two spots to lead the Netherlands to the team victory.

Nadia Battocletti of Italy had a one-second victory in the U20 event, followed by Delia Sclabas of Switzerland (silver), and Inei Kalkan of Turkey (bronze).   Great Britain won the team gold,  The Netherlands took silver, and Turkey took the bronze.

Anna Emilie Moller of Denmark won the U23 race.  Anna Gehring of Germany was second,  and Weonika Pyzik of Poland earned the bronze.  Germany took the team title, Spain was second, and Great Britain was third.   In the two man/two women mixed relay that was held after the main event, the exciting race was won by Spain over France by two seconds.  Belarus took the bronze.  Great Britain, Ukraine, Sweden, Belgium, Latvia, Ireland, and Portugal rounded out the top ten.

Senior Women (8300 Meters)  Top 25

  1. 26:05 Yasemin Can  TUR
  2. 26:06 Fabienne Schlumpf  SUI
  3. 26:07 Karoline Grovdal  NOR
  4. 26:16 Susan Krumins  NED
  5. 26:45 Jip Vastenburg  NED
  6. 26:53 Elena Burkard  GER
  7. 26:57 Charlotte Arter  GBR
  8. 26:59 Melissa Courtney  GBR
  9. 27:02 Pippa Woolven  GBR
  10. 27:03 Jess Piasecki  GBR
  11. 27:08 Maureen Koster  NED
  12. 27:16 Trihas Gebre  ESP
  13. 27:17 Charlotta Fougberg  SWE
  14. 27:20 Anna Gosk  POL
  15. 27:20 Kate Avery  GBR
  16. 27:20 Liv Westphal  FRA
  17. 27:21 Marie Bouchard  FRA
  18. 27:22 Maja Moller Alm  DEN
  19. 27:26 Fabienne Amrhein  GER
  20. 27:30 Verity Ockenden  GBR
  21. 27:30 Julia VanVelthoven  NED
  22. 27:34 Nina Lauwaert  BEL
  23. 27:39 Samrawit Mengisteab  SWE
  24. 27:41 Ozlem Kaya TUR
  25. 27:43  Caterina Granz  GER

U20 Women (4300 meters) Top 20

  1. 13:46 Nadia Battocletti  ITA
  2. 13:47 Delia Sclabas  SUI
  3. 13:48 Inei Kalkan  TUR
  4. 13:51 Jasmijn Lau  NED
  5. 13:57 Amelia Quirk  GBR
  6. 13:58 Carla Gallardo  ESP
  7. 14:00 Khahisa Mhlanga  GBR
  8. 14:01 Emma O’Brien  IRL
  9. 14:03 Sarah Healy  IRL
  10. 14:04 Famke Heinst  NED
  11. 14:05 Grace Brock  NED
  12. 14:06 Sibylle Haring SUI
  13. 14:10 Cari Hughes  GBR
  14. 14:11 Roos Blokhuis  NED
  15. 14:12 Mariana Machado  POR
  16. 14:12 Cristina Ruiz  ESP
  17. 14:16 Emine Akbingol  TUR
  18. 14:19 Elisa Palmero  ITA
  19. 14:22 Derya Kunur  TUR
  20. 14:22 Anna MacFadyen  GBR

U23 Women (6300 meters)  Top 20

  1. 20:34 Anna Emilie Moller  DEN
  2. 20:36 Anna Gehring  GER
  3. 20:46 Weronika Pyzik  POL
  4. 20:48 Chiara Scherrer  SUI
  5. 20:57 Celia Anton  ESP
  6. 20:58 Miriam Dattke  GER
  7. 21:04 Amy Griffiths  GBR
  8. 21:04 Carmela Cardama  ESP
  9. 21:05 Poppy Tank  GBR
  10. 21:06 Mathilde Senechal  FRA
  11. 21:07 Egle Morenaite  LTU
  12. 21:13 Marta Garcia  ESP
  13. 21:13 Yayla Kilic  TUR
  14. 21:13 Lisa Tertsch  GER
  15. 21:14 Lea Meyer  GER
  16. 21:17 Eilish Flanagan  IRL
  17. 21:19 Abbie Donnelly  GBR
  18. 21:22 Kristyna Dvorakova  CZE
  19. 21:24 Rebecca Lonedo  ITA
  20. 21:24 Flavia Stutz  SUI

Senior Women (8300 Meters) Photos

sr women start-4018

Start of the senior women’s competition

can tur burkhard ger schumpf sui -4086

Yasemin Can Turkey, Elena Burkhard Germany Fabienne Schlumpf Switzerland lead early race.

fabienne schlumpf sui anna gosk pol-4049

Fabienne Schlumpf Switzerland and Anna Gosk Poland run by the lake and flags.

yasemin can tur 1stf women sr-4240

Yasemin Can of Turkey 1st woman in senior competition

oksana rayta ukr kerry oflaherty irl-4469

Oksana Rayta Ukraine Kerry O’Flaherty Ireland

fans of euro xc-4858

Fans of Euro XC

yasemin can tur-4734

Yasemin Can of Turkey 1st woman in senior competition

ned takes the team title in tilburg-4784

Netherlands takes the team senior women’s title in Tilburg 2018.

U20 Women (4300 meters) Photos

nadia battocletti ita wins u20-7556

Nadia Battocletti Italy wins Under 20 competition.

roos blokhuis diane van es jasmijn lau ned-2138

Roos Blokhuis, Diane Van Es, Jasmijn Lau Netherlands, Delia Sclabas Switzerland in lead pack. Netherlands finished 2nd in team competition.

nadia battocetti ita amelia quirk gbr sarah healy irl-2216

Nadia Battocetti Italy, Amelia Quirk Great Britain, Sarah Healy Ireland

alexandra zavadska elena duskova svk -2102

Alexandra Zavadska and Elena Duskova Slovakia

U23 Women (6300 meters) Photos

anna emilie moller den far left won u23 race-3099

Anna Emilie Moller Denmark far left won Under 23 race. Anna Gehring Germany in center placed 2nd.

kristyna dvorakova cze 18thf lisa tertsch 14thf-3328

Kristyna Dvorakova Czech Republic 18thf and Lisa Tertsch Germany 14thf

great britain u23 women were 3rd-3519

Team Great Britain Under 23 women were 3rd.

anna gehring 2nd lisa tertsch 14th ger wins-3510

Anna Gehring 2nd and Lisa Tertsch 14th on winning Team Germany

Categories: Race Coverage

Tags: , , ,

%d bloggers like this: