Khattabi Breaks Record;
Phillipes Continues Dominance at Kennett Square


KENNETT SQUARE, PA--After two years of rain on Kennett Run Day, it was a real treat to see the sun shining clear and bright the morning of this year’s event, May 15, 2004. More than 700 avid runners and walkers came out to participate in the 15th annual Kennett Square Run which consists of 10K and 5K runs, a 5K RaceWalk, and a One Mile Fun Walk. Each starts in the center of Kennett and winds its particular course to nearby Anson B. Nixon Park, finishing between two scenic lakes and a spacious picnic area.

The first 10K runner to reach the finish line was Carlos Shultz in a time of 35:48, followed by Cory Soulliard and Rob Jones. The ladies’ winner was Pam Gess in 39:16 with Ann Tierney and Cindy Chimino earning 2nd and 3rd, respectively.

Leading the 5K Run was Elarbi Khattabi in a course record time of 14:44 with Darryl Brown and John Brannon taking 2nd and 3rd places, respectively. Elarbi floated along gracefully, breaking the 10-year-old record of 14:46 set by Earl Stoner back in 1994.

The winner of the women’s contest was Marnie Flanagan in 20:21 with Mary Schultz and Jackie Daino achieving 2nd and 3rd places, respectively.

In the 5K RaceWalk, Jim Phelan took 1st place overall in 30:56 with Dave Shirey earning 2nd and Ron Frederick earning 3rd. Tracy Daly earned the women’s victory in 35:13 with Amy Helm placing 2nd and Carolyn Diefenderfer taking 3rd.

Masters victories in the 10K went to Mike Precopio and Mary Matthews. The 5K Masters winners were Tom Jermyn and Leah Whipple. N. Clair Clawser and Sarah Farmer led all 5K RaceWalk Masters.

ChampionChip timing by Runners High again provided prompt results for the awards ceremony. Cash prizes were awarded to the top three overall men and women in the 10K and 5K races, while running jackets were awarded to the winning Masters. Custom glass mugs were presented to the top three men and women in each age group in the 10K and 5K Runs and the 5K RaceWalk.

In addition to individual awards there was a team competition in the 10K Run. Esquire-go took top honors. Congratulations to all team participants.

Another major feature of the Kennett Run is their copyrighted PoweRun competition. Under the leadership of the YMCA, runners in either the 10K or 5K could enter this biathlon event. Participants first bench-pressed their body weight (60% for women) before the running events started. Their individual run times were then reduced for each bench press repetition they achieved, providing an adjusted PoweRun score.

The overall winner in the 10K PoweRun was Travis Martin who bench-pressed his body weight 35 times and netted an adjusted 8:15 run time. Jerry Ward and Jay Miller took 2nd and 3rd, respectively. For the women, Pam Gess, run winner, also took top honors in the PoweRun, bench pressing 60% of her weight 38 times to provide a net run time of 11:16. Jennifer Abracht-Smith was 2nd and Judy Rynkiewicz earned 3rd.

In the 5K PoweRun, David Phillipes continued his domination of the event with his fourth consecutive victory, lifting his body weight 35 times for a 2:00 net run time with Glenn Strohl and Tony Dastra close behind in the top three positions. The women’s winner was Roya McCloskey bench-pressing 60% of her body weight 27 times for an adjusted 5K time of 11:28. Irene Norcross took 2nd and Karen Stout won 3rd.

This event is a great addition to the running and fitness world, is growing in popularity, and the Kennett Run PoweRun is definitely an area favorite.

This was the 15th annual running of the Kennett Square Run, which has achieved premiere ranking among Kennett Square events each year. Proceeds from the Run benefit individuals from the greater Kennett Square area with special needs. The funds are distributed through the Kennett Run Charities, Inc., whose members represent the Exchange Club of Southern Chester County, the Kennett Lions Club, Kennett Rotary, and Kennett-at-Longwood Rotary, as well as individuals from the area’s business community.